Adjusting a dividend

Content also available for New Zealand, Canadian, and UK tax entities or on our global site.

Sharesight allows you to add, adjust or reject dividend payments from the holding page for each holding in your portfolio.

The payment type and fields that are available will depend on the holding type and your Portfolio tax residency.

Adjusting a dividend:

1 – On the Portfolio Overview page, select the holding you would adjust the dividend.

2 – On the Individual Holding page, click on ‘Edit’ link on the dividend you would like to adjust.

Step 2 - Reinvestment dividend

3 – On the ‘Edit a payment’ window, you can then adjust the data.

4 – Click ‘Save and confirm payout’

Step 3 & 4 - Adjusting a dividend

Options

sharesight_edit_dividend

  • Non-Taxable – Select the tick box to mark the dividend as non-taxable. This means that the dividend will no longer appear in the NZ or AU taxable income reports. This feature can be used to record non-taxable capital returns and other types of non-taxable payouts such as PIE dividends.

  • Dividend Reinvested – Select the tick box to record a Dividend Reinvestment.

  • File Attachments – You may upload a file to store alongside the trade. Simply click the “Choose a file” button. Note that you may only store one file per holding at a time, and the system will only display the latest file.

    iPhone/iPad users: Unfortunately, due to a limitation with the mobile iOS browser, you may only select files from your photo library. So you may choose to take a photo of your file and upload it, or upload the actual file from a computer.

  • Reject this payout – This button is shown if you are editing an automatic dividend (indicated by the lightning bolt icon:

    icon - lightning bolt

    Rejecting the dividend means that Sharesight will no longer show a dividend for the particular dividend payment event in Sharesight’s database.

  • Delete this payout – This button is shown if you are editing a manual dividend, and will delete the dividend from your records.

  • Save Button – The save button will save the transaction and return you to the Holding Detail page. When you save an automatic transaction it will lose it’s system generated status and become saved against the holding. This means that it will no longer automatically adjust itself if you alter historic purchase or sale information.

Last modified on April 26, 2018 UTC